You are in your car racing towards a meeting for which you are late. As you tear down a quiet residential block you suddenly hear a clunk. Your eyes move to look out of your passenger-side mirror and you realize that it is gone. It was knocked out when you got too close to a parked car.
You continue on your trip to work, but you wonder if you should drive home with the missing mirror or if you should have it towed to a mechanic who can install a new one. There are some states in which it is illegal to drive without a rearview mirror and others where the absence of one is merely frowned upon.
Generally speaking, it is usually not illegal to drive without the center rearview mirror so long as the side mirrors are intact. Most states just want to ensure that you have a means of seeing behind you when you are on the road.
Why You Should Always Use a Rearview Mirror
Whether it is legal or illegal, it is always a good idea to have a rearview mirror in your car. It helps you to see how far away the car behind you is driving. It is instrumental when you are changing lanes.
It is very important to have the passenger side-view mirror. Side-view mirrors offer a perspective that you will not be able to see from a regular rearview mirror. If you enter or exit the expressway without some kind of rearview mirror, you may cause an accident.
Even though it may not be illegal to drive without a rearview mirror in your state, the police can still pull you over for driving an unsafe vehicle. A new mirror can cost anywhere from $75 to $1,000 depending on the make and model of the car.
If you have a luxury car but you also have no money because of paying for the luxury car, you can always get a cheap rearview mirror to use temporarily until you can afford the mirror that would look best in your car.
How does a rearview mirror become damaged?
Rearview mirrors tend to be glued on to your car very securely. However, if you are in an accident, they can fall off or crack. The vast majority of vehicles nowadays have windows that are designed to protect a driver and their car interiors from the elements. Although this may increase the longevity of your carpet and mirrors, they will still suffer damage from heat over time. You may end up not being able to see out of your rearview if it has been damaged by the sun.
State Mirror Laws
If you have traveled in the United States, you know that each one of them has its own vibe. Some states have very strict traffic laws and others do not. All states require that you can see at least 200 feet in the back of you if you need to. Mirrors can be as helpful as speedometers in terms of telling you if you are keeping up with the flow of traffic.
Alaska requires driver’s side mirrors on every car. You must also have either a passenger-side mirror or a traditional rearview mirror. The mirror you have should be in good condition.
You are required to have a rearview mirror in Arizona. You can just use a center mirror, but if is obstructed, you will have to have side mirrors.
The Golden State requires a left side mirror on all vehicles. You must also have either a standard rear-view mirror or a right side mirror.
Unless you are in a Jeep, you must have two side mirrors in Colorado.
The Land of Steady Habits requires that drivers have a clear view directly behind the vehicle or directly behind the driver’s side of the car. In the event that the center mirror is obstructed, a left side mirror must be used.
Side mirrors are not mandatory in the First State. Vehicle must have one mirror that allows them to see vehicles that are directly behind them.
You only need the center rearview mirror in Florida. However, if the rear-view mirror is obstructed in any way, you will be required to use side mirrors.
If the view from the center mirror has an obstruction, you will have to have side mirrors on the car. If the rearview mirror is not blocked in any way then you do not have to have side mirrors.
Hawaii requires side mirrors if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
If you have a center mirror that is not obstructed you will not need to have side mirrors in the state of Idaho.
In the Land of Lincoln, Side mirrors are only mandatory if the view from the center mirror is blocked.
Indiana is one of the few states that does not require any kind of mirror. However, if you do get a mirror it must have a view of at least 200 feet to the rear of the car.
Like so many other states in the country, Iowa only requires side mirrors if the main mirror is obstructed.
The gray and gloomy sky in the state can make driving challenging. You must have a left side mirror in your vehicle along with either a right side mirror or a center mirror.
The Bluegrass State requires drivers to have a left side mirror and one other mirror that will show the oncoming traffic.
You must have a left side mirror if you want to drive a car in Louisiana. You must also have either a center mirror or a passenger-side mirror. If the center mirror is obstructed then a right side mirror is required.
You will only have to have side mirrors in Maine if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
You must have two mirrors if you want to drive in Maryland. One of those mirrors will be on your left side. If the center mirror is obstructed you will have to get the right side mirror as well.
“The Bay State requires that you have a mirror in your car that enables you to see in the back of you. The law does not specify left side mirrors However, if you have only one mirror, it is a good idea to have the left one.
Automobiles are a big part of Michigan's history. The State requires left side mirrors on most vehicles. However, if you have a historical vehicle you will be exempt from the law.
You must have a side mirror if the view from the center mirror is blocked.
Missouri will let you drive with nothing more than a center mirror. However, if the view from the center mirror is obstructed in any way, you will have to get a left side mirror.
You just have to have one rearview mirror in the Treasure State. However, if the view from the center mirror is blocked, you must use a driver side mirror.
The state of Nebraska does not require mirrors Per se. However, if you cannot see in the back of you by just turning your head for a second, you will be required to get side mirrors.
You will only have to have side mirrors if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
Side mirrors are required if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
Left side mirrors are required here along with either a center mirror or right side mirror. If the center mirror is obstructed, then a right side mirror is required.
Like the majority of states, the Land of Enchantment only requires side mirrors if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
Left side mirrors are required in this state unless the vehicle was manufactured prior to 1967.
Left-hand and center mirrors are required on all vehicles in this state. If your car was manufactured before 1965, it will be exempt from this law.
If the view from the center mirror is obstructed, North Dakota requires drivers to have a driver's side mirror.
A vehicle must have at least one rearview mirror in Ohio. If you have a center mirror and it is obstructed in any way, you must then get a driver side mirror.
A car must have two mirrors in the Old Dust Bowl. One of those mirrors must be on the left side.
You must have at least one rearview mirror in the Beavers State. Side mirrors are only required if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
Pennsylvania requires a car to have at least one rearview mirror. If the center mirror is obstructed, you’ll have to get a driver side mirror.
America’s tiniest state mandates that cars have a left side mirror and center mirror.
You must have a side mirror if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
Side mirrors are mandatory if the view from the center mirror is blocked.
Tennessee law dictates that “motor trucks” must have at least one unobstructed mirror.
You must have one rearview mirror. Side mirrors are required in the event that the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
Cars in Utah must have two mirrors and one of them must be a driver side mirror.
Vermont is one of the few states that does not require mirrors for most drivers. You only need a mirror if you are towing something.
Virginia requires drivers to have two mirrors and one of those must be a center side mirror.
This state’s law says that a side mirror is required and either a center mirror or right side mirror.
West Virginia is one of the few states that does not require any mirrors unless you have an obstruction that prevents you from seeing clearly in back of you.
A driver must have side mirrors in Wisconsin if the view from the center mirror is obstructed.
Wyoming requires that drivers use a left side mirror along with one other mirror.
Remember to clean your windows regularly, so you can see out of them when you look in your reviews.
If your mirrors have become damaged over time simply because your car is so old you may want to think about buying a new one. If you buy a new car, you will have to think about how you want to get rid of the old one.
Sell Your Car to Us
Cash Cars Buyers can give you a great price for your used vehicle. All you have to do is fill out a simple form to get started. We will ask for your contact information and some general information about your vehicle. As soon as we get your form, we will call you back with an offer.
If you accept our offer. we will arrange a time to come to your house, pay you in cash, and tow your vehicle away for free. It is as easy as that.
If you sell your car online or trade it in at a dealership you will have to have the pink slip. If you have lost your pink slip you will have to go to the DMV and pay them to get a new one. It may take weeks for the title to arrive in the mail. If you sell your car to us, no title is generally no problem.