logo
(866) 924-4608

We Buy All Cars, Running or Not!

(866) 924-4608 FREE ONLINE OFFER
How To Sell A Car In Kentucky – Transfer Ownership And More

How To Sell A Car In Kentucky – Transfer Ownership And More

Kentucky is “Bluegrass State”. The state is famous for horse racing, delicious bourbon and Bluegrass Music.


Once you know how to sell your car, you’ll hit all of the right notes with perspective buyers.

In our guide, we’ll explain how to transfer the title of your vehicle, obtain a duplicate car title and more.

We will take the mystery out of how to sell a car in Kentucky!

How to Sell a Car in Kentucky – Seller Documents

The state of Kentucky defines a title by the following: “A title a legal document, establishing a person or business as the legal owner of a vehicle or vessel.” Kentucky requires the transfer of a title to the new owner within 15 days.

You as the vehicle seller and the buyer have the duty of preparing all of the necessary paperwork to complete the sale. Below are some of the documents you need to have:

Car Title

You will find the title assignment on the back of the vehicle title certificate. To sign over the title, you must fill out the:

Buyer’s full name and address.

Seller’s full name and address.

Date of sale.

Purchase price of vehicle.

Odometer disclosure or reading.

Signatures of seller as well as buyer.

Odometer Disclosure Statement

Federal law states that Kentucky vehicle sellers disclose the vehicle’s mileage, once they transfer ownership. With Kentucky’s odometer law, you could face imprisonment or fines for not doing so, or writing false information. Furthermore, you have to record all mileage information in an official Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form TC 96-5).

Bill of Sale

Once you sell your car in Kentucky, you must give the buyer a complete bill of sale. Think of the Kentucky bill of sale like a document, proof of the sale or even a receipt our bill of sale must include:

  1. Final sale price.
  2. Description of the vehicle (year, make, model & color of vehicle).
  3. Vehicle identification number (VIN).
  4. Your name and the buyer’s name.
  5. County and state where the sale took place.
  6. Warranty agreement if this applies
  7. Visit KY.Gov for more information!

how to sell a car in kentucky

How to Sell a Car in Kentucky – Applying for a Title for the First Time

According to KY.Gov, the following documents are required for in-state title applications:

  • “Proof of Kentucky insurance (issue date within 45 days)
  • Photo ID
  • Completed(TC96-182) and signed-over Kentucky title.
  • If your name on your title is different than your ID, you must provide an affidavit showing they are one and the same. A marriage license or divorce decree are good examples.”

According to KY.Gov, you must submit the following documents for an out-of-state-title application:

  • “Proof of Kentucky Insurance (issue date within 45 days)
  • Photo ID
  • Completed (TC96-182) and signed-over title. If your state only issues a registration or bill of sale, bring those in place of the signed-over title.
  • If your name on your title is different than your ID, you must provide an affidavit showing they are one and the same. A marriage license or divorce decree are good examples.”

Click here to learn more!

“If you have not received your Title within 45 days of application, contact your County Clerk’s office,” according to Ky.Gov.

Transferring Ownership of a Vehicle in Kentucky

Kentucky resident to Another Kentucky resident

Upon the sale of a vehicle, the seller must stand in the presence of a notary and then sign the back of the title. That seller is then signing over ownership of the vehicle. The buyer of the vehicle, then must gather the title, his or her proof of Kentucky Insurance, his or her proof of identification, and money for the fees as well as applicable taxes. That buyer then does to his or her local County Clerk’s office for transfer. “Older titles, prior to 2000, may require a completed TC96-182 to complete the transfer process,” according to Ky.Gov.

Out-of-State Resident and Kentucky resident

“You will need to notify your County Clerk’s office with the name and state of the new owner, according to Ky.Gov. “You will need to complete form TC96-3 Affidavit of Incomplete Transfer​ if the vehicle has not been transferred within 15 days. You will also need to return the Kentucky license plate to your Kentucky County Clerk’s office. If you were a resident of Kentucky and owner of the vehicle January 1st you may have property taxes due on that vehicle.” Click here to read more from Ky.Gov!

Selling a Car in Kentucky – Getting a Duplicate Vehicle Title

Getting a title replacement in Kentucky is quick and easy, as long as you have all of the documents you need.

If your original title has damage or is beyond legibility, then you need one.

You can obtain a duplicate title a few ways in Kentucky and we’ll tell you how!

Additionally, you are able to replace your title in-person at your local Kentucky County Clerk’s location.

You must first file the Application for Kentucky Certificate of Title or Registration (TC 96-182).

You also have to have a notary witness the signature on the form. Additionally, you must indicate on the form, that you are requesting a duplicate title Don’t for get to include the reason You also have to include the:

  • Vehicle Identification number or the VIN
  • The odometer disclosure
  • Your personal information such as your name, address and social security number.
  • Make sure this information is accurate when submitting the form.
  • Once complete, you can turn in the form and then show your driver’s license or ID.
  • There is a $6 fee for the duplicate title service.

You may also need the following to get your duplicate title:

    • Your driver’s license
    • The license plate number
    • Vehicle’s VIN
    • The year, make & model of the car
    • The lien details if applicable
    • Power of attorney if applicable

Even those items are not a necessity, you may want to still have them ready to go.

  • Vehicle Identification number or the VIN
  • The odometer disclosure
  • Your personal information such as your name, address and social security number.
  • Make sure this information is accurate when submitting the form.
  • Once complete, you can turn in the form and then show your driver’s license or ID.
  • There is a $6 fee for the duplicate title service.

You may also need the following to get your duplicate title:

    • Your driver’s license
    • The license plate number
    • Vehicle’s VIN
    • The year, make & model of the car
    • The lien details if applicable
    • Power of attorney if applicable

Even those items are not a necessity, you may want to still have them ready to go.

To replace your title in person, you have to:

  1. Locate your local KY County Clerk
  2. Submit proof of ID
  3. Give the clerk your form
  4. Pay the application fee
  5. There is a $2.00 notary fee if this applies to your circumstance.
  6. The clerk will process your request and you can expect to get your duplicate car title in about a week, if there are no issues or delays. For faster or expedited service, there is an extra $25 fee.
  7. Click here for more details!

What if There is a Mistake on My Title?

Time to update some information on your KY vehicle title or correct an error?

You can do so once you submit the application. You must provide documents stating the change to your information.

Selling Your Car to a Buyer and Staying Safe

Once you have a buyer for your car, you both can meet up at the local County Clerk’s office and complete the title transfer transaction right there.

Doing this ensures that the vehicle is taken out of your name. This also prevents the system from generating additional fees and taxes for you to pay.

Vehicle History Report

You as a seller, want to be the most honest seller. So, having a vehicle history report for potential buyers is a great way to build trust and even sell your car quicker! A vehicle history report lets the potential buyer know the background of your car. This tells perspective buyers if there was flood damage or other kinds of damages to the car. Click here to get a vehicle history report!

how to sell a car in Kentucky

How to Sell a Car in Kentucky – The Sale!

Assess Your Car

As a car seller, you need to know what you are selling and whether to sell your car  as is or in parts.

Selling Online

Make sure that your online ad has great pictures, a detailed description and way for buyers to contact you.

Stay Safe

When you meet a potential buyer, make sure you are in a public venue and you are safe. If that buyer wants to test drive your vehicle, you can allow it, but you may want to ask for a picture ID. You may even ask a friend to come with you.

Also, you should never take a buyer to an ATM or a bank, so that he or she can get the funds to buy your car.

Be in Control of Your Sale

As the vehicle seller, you are in control of your sale. If the price is negotiable, then negotiate! But if you are firm on the price, you stand firm. You may find that you can come down a bit, if you are not selling your car as quickly as you would like.

Need to sell your car the quick, convenient and easy way? Call Cash Cars Buyer! 844-663-7286 !